Butterfly Files Motion to Dismiss Claims in FUJIFILM Sonosite Legal Action

Butterfly Network Inc. has filed a motion to dismiss claims and specific patents from a complaint for patent infringement lawsuit filed on March 9, 2022, by FUJIFILM Sonosite Inc. Butterfly believes the lawsuit alleging infringement of U.S. Patent Nos. 7,169,108;...

ARTIS icono ceiling Angiography System Earns FDA Clearance

Siemens Healthineers has announced the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) clearance of the ARTIS icono ceiling, a ceiling-mounted angiography system designed for a wide range of routine and advanced procedures in interventional radiology (IR) and cardiology. The...

New Fixed X-ray System Brings ‘Personal Assistant’ to Radiology Departments

GE Healthcare released its most advanced fixed X-ray system yet, the next-generation Definium 656 HD. Leading GE Healthcare’s portfolio of fixed X-ray products, this latest generation of the overhead tube suspension (OTS) system delivers consistent, highly automated,...

Exo Acquires Medo AI

Exo (pronounced “echo”), a pioneering health information and medical devices company, has announced that it is acquiring Medo, a Canadian developer of artificial intelligence (AI) technology, to make ultrasound imaging faster and simpler to use. By integrating Medo’s...

The Joint Commission, National Quality Forum Accepting Award Applications

The Joint Commission and the National Quality Forum (NQF) are now accepting applications for the 2022 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Awards. The annual awards program recognizes major achievements by individuals and organizations to improve patient safety and healthcare quality. The deadline to apply is September 14.

Awards are presented in three categories:

  • Individual Achievement
  • National Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality
  • Local Level Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality

The individual award is intended for nominees who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and scholarship in patient safety and healthcare quality through a substantive body of work.

Initiatives or projects eligible for the National and Local Level awards will have involved successful system changes or interventions that make the environment of care safer or that advocate on the patient’s behalf. These innovative efforts may address new technologies, protocols, procedures, education, organizational culture, legislation, the media, patient advocacy, systems theory or another area. Organizations applying must provide at minimum one year (12 months) of data supporting the improvement made by the featured initiative.

The 2021 recipients of this prestigious award were Prime Healthcare, Kaiser Permanente Northern California, and Dr. Hardeep Singh, chief of the Health Policy, Quality & Informatics Program in the Center for Innovations in Quality, Effectiveness and Safety at Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center and professor at Baylor College of Medicine. Recipients for all previous years can be found on this page.

This award program was launched two decades ago in honor of the late John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). An impassioned advocate for healthcare quality improvement, Dr. Eisenberg was a founding member of NQF’s board of directors.

Awardees will be recognized in person during an award ceremony at NQF’s annual conference in February 2023.

Visit these links to access the application form and learn more about the Eisenberg Awards. Interested parties may inquire about eligibility and the application process by contacting



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.